Our happy selfdrivers

Mark

UK, January 2019, Camping fully equipped Land Cruiser

PUBLISHED JANUARY 30, 2019

From the moment I arrived at Kasane to the end of my three weeks in Chobe and Moremi, Vincent and his team made my Botswana adventure perfect! Everything was perfectly organised and I felt very comfortable and confident the whole time. Vincent was very attentive and informative and put together the perfect self drive safari you could wish for.

Some of the campsites are admittedly a bit basic, but personally I love that! But, they were always clean, and the staff friendly and helpful.

One experience that I do need to share, was at South Gate. You will read in your notes that you need to be careful at the campsites at night, as there are no fences and they advise driving to the ablution blocks where possible, as wildlife will often wander through the sites. Well, I can say with certainty that this is good advice! Please see attached photos, a pride of Lion decided that they would much rather wander and play in the campsite rather than go around it! You can see my sleeping bag, that was hanging on the ladder the my tent, to give you perspective!

I also had a troop of Elephant wander though in Savuti, and Hippos in Kwai. So, if you need to pee, do not wander in the dark to the toilets!

All this made my adventure all the more wonderful!!, if sometimes intimate with the local wildlife! To sit in my tent, and watch the Elephants wander by in the dark, was a truly life changing experience!

I can’t thank Vincent enough for his great planning, and wonderful hospitality during my stay. I will be back next year, to see you and do it all again!

More reviews

Meet all our happy selfdrivers!

Elisabeth and Franck

16 July 2016|

John and Paul

12 October 2019|

Claire, Michel, Baptiste and Sera

14 July 2017|

2020-09-17T20:09:34+01:0030 January 2019|Our happy selfdrivers|

Mark

A partir du moment où je suis arrivé à Kasane jusqu’à la fin de mon séjour de trois semaines à Chobe et Moremi, Vincent et son équipe ont rendu mon aventure au Botswana parfaite ! Tout était très bien organisé et je me suis senti très à l’aise et confiant tout le temps. Pendant la préparation, Vincent était très attentif, donnant toutes les informations nécessaires pour créer le safari self drive que vous souhaitez.

Certains des campings sont certes un peu basiques, mais personnellement, j’adore ça ! Ils étaient toujours propres et le personnel sympathique et serviable.

L’expérience que je voudrais surtout partager est celle que j’ai vécue à South Gate. Vincent avait souligné le fait d’être prudent la nuit sur les sites de camping car ils ne sont pas clôturés. Il est donc recommandé de se rendre dans les sanitaires uniquement à la lumière du jour. Je peux maintenant dire avec certitude que c’est un excellent conseil ! Alors que j’étais rentré un peu tardivement au camp, j’ai pu rencontrer une troupe de lions, errant et jouant dans le camping ! Sur la photo ci-contre, mon sac de couchage accroché à l’échelle de la tente est visible, ce qui donne une parfaite perspective de ce que j’ai vécu ce soir là !

Lors des mes autres nuits, j’ai aussi rencontré une troupe d’éléphants à Savuti et des hippopotames à Khwai alors restez bien en sécurité dans votre tente et ne vous promenez pas dans l’obscurité pour aller jusqu’aux toilettes !

Tout cela a rendu mon aventure d’autant plus merveilleuse et parfois si intime avec la faune !! S’asseoir dans ma tente et regarder les éléphants errer dans le noir était une expérience extraordinaire !

Je ne saurais trop remercier Vincent pour son excellent travail d’organisation et sa merveilleuse hospitalité pendant mon séjour. Je serai de retour l’année prochaine pour revivre une nouvelle aventure avec Tawana Self Drive !

Royaume Uni, Janvier 2019, Land Cruiser équipé camping
2019-03-14T06:02:51+00:0030 janvier 2019|Nos selfdrivers heureux|