Muriel and Gilles

After visiting Namibia, we dreamed of Botswana and this dream came true in May 2018. We first looked for information on forums and blogs, including Julie and Vincent’s TawanaBlog. Then we built our route and asked Tawana Self Drive to organize the whole trip, with their precious experience and knowledge.

From Kasane, we went to the Victoria falls first, then we started our self drive trip, exploring Chobe, Savuti and Moremi. We had a stopover in a lodge in the Okavango Delta, then followed our trip in Makgadikgadi and Nxai Pan NP. A classical but such amazing tour!

As we didn’t have any 4X4 driving experience, we ​​booked the training with Vincent which made us able to ride all the sandy tracks of Botswana without any worry. We usually spent our days to look for animals that are never really far away, and we were lucky enough to watch an abundant and varied wildlife, leopard included! On the evening, we used to settle our camp and prepare our meal, peacefully remembering the amazing sightings of the day. The nights in the wild were not always quiet and we heard sometimes a roar of lion, sometimes an elephant or some hippos.

This experience of the bush, by our own, in the middle of nowhere, was awesome! The atmosphere is unique and , for sure, we will be back!

France, May 2018, Camping fully equipped Hilux
2018-09-23T10:41:08+00:0029 May 2018|Our happy selfdrivers|

Muriel et Gilles

Après avoir visité la Namibie, nous rêvions du Botswana. Ce fut chose faite en Mai 2018. Nous avons d’abord glané quelques informations sur forums et blogs notamment TawanaBlog celui de Julie et Vincent, avons construit notre itinéraire et nous avons fait appel à Tawana Self Drive pour le finaliser et s’occuper des réservations, normal ils avaient l’expérience.

Arrivés à Kasane, nous sommes d’abord allés aux Victoria Falls, puis dans Chobe, Savuti et Moremi, une étape dans un lodge du le Delta de l’Okavango , Makgadikgadi NP et Nxai Pan NP, un « classical tour », qui nous a bien fait planer.

Sans expérience du 4X4 mais après avoir suivis la formation de Vincent, nous avons pu rouler sur toutes les pistes sableuses du Botswana, sans souci mais avec parfois une petite boule dans le ventre vu l’état de certaines d’entre elles. Les journées se passaient à chercher les animaux qui ne sont jamais vraiment loin, et nous avons vu une belle palette de ce que compte la savane, avec notamment un léopard. Le soir arrivés au camp, nous préparions le repas et la tente en se remémorant les rencontres du jour et les nuits ne sont pas toujours calmes, un rugissement de lion par-là, un éléphant par-ci ou encore un hippo !

Cette expérience de la brousse, seuls au milieu de rien si on peut dire cela comme ça, nous a enchanté, l’ambiance est unique et on va repartir, ça c’est sur !

France, Juin 2018, Hilux équipé camping
2018-09-07T22:04:55+00:0029 mai 2018|Nos selfdrivers heureux|